$6+ million for 2021 CDBG-I water, sewer projects – WithersRavenel

NCDEQ delivers $6+ million for 2021 CDBG-I water, sewer projects

2021 CDBG-I Funding Awards

NCDEQ delivers $6+ million for 2021 CDBG-I water, sewer projects

The North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality has announced their 2021 Community Development Block Grant – Infrastructure (CDBG-I) funding decisions.

Please join us in congratulating the following municipalities on their funding approvals:

Town of Benson – Sewer Rehabilitation/Replacement Project – $88,360 (Planning Grant)

City of Dunn – Sewer Rehabilitation/Replacement Project – $1,999,129

Town of Selma – Sewer Rehabilitation/Replacement Project – $1,999,809

Town of Maxton – Water Line Rehabilitation/Replacement Project – $1,999,299

These 2021 CDBG-I funding awards push WithersRavenel’s overall funding total to more than $707 million for 537 projects.

WithersRavenel takes pride in helping communities afford the improvements and efficiencies that improve the lives of residents. Our Funding & Asset Management team strives to help communities identify funding sources, assist with the application process, and provide grant and loan administration services.

Do you have a project in need of funding? You may be eligible for grants or no-interest/low-interest loans. Reach out to a member of our funding team by sending an email to funding@withersravenel.com to explore your options.

2021 Upcoming Funding Opportunities and Deadlines

NCDEQ – DWR 319 Grant Program (not yet announced)

  • Due: May (typical)
  • No maximum funding amount (most projects range from $50,000-$300,000)

Carolina Thread Trail (not yet announced)

  • Due: June (typical)
  • Letter of Intent needs to be submitted in May
  • Eligible North Carolina counties: Anson, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, Union

NCDEQ – Water Resources Development Grant Program

  • Due: June 30
  • Maximum funding amount: $200,000 (50% cost share)

Golden LEAF Community-Based Grants Initiative in Western Prosperity Zone

  • Officially launched Jan. 26
  • Organizations serving the following counties are eligible: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, and Transylvania
  • $11 million allocated for projects that move the economic needle in a community through job creation, workforce preparedness and education and agriculture

BUILD (not yet announced)